发表于October 2, 2015

自海盗时期以来,信息和商业这两个名词就已经紧密地联系在了一起,并逐渐融合。海盗以蛮力和船闻名,但他们同时也是优秀的创造者:发明了许多诸如匠心之轮之类的工具。

把时间往后快进到20年前,各种现代因素已经不置可否地开始影响贸易形式。1995年9月,一个

叫皮埃尔·奥米德亚的人决定在国际市场上,面向全世界消费者拍卖一个碎掉的激光指针,卖了整整14美金。这一在现在看起来并不出奇的举动,在当时其实改变了零售业的本质意义。3年后,eBay首次面世,皮埃尔·奥米德亚已成为了一个亿万富翁。

EBay把全世界多余的东西放进了一个虚拟甩卖场,给予各产业的消费者更多的主动权。
绝大多数情况下,科技带来改变。当各种工具已从电脑桌面和平板电脑切换到我们的手机和手表上,每一个行业都随之发生变化。

假期住宿:2008年,我们目睹了Airbnb的崛起,它在短时间内引领百万游客在旅行时选择住在别人的公寓,而不是旅馆或和陌生人同住一个房间。 (这代表着Airbnb公司已经比希尔顿酒店连锁更加有商业价值。)

现代干扰因素并不只影响到像购物和旅行这样的愉快之事;繁重的家务常常占用着我们大量的业余时间,压得我们喘不过气来,而今天我们做家务的方式已经悄悄发生改变:

像TaskRabbit和Airtasker这类应用软件的流行,代表顾客们不用再亲自为花园除草,或是排队等待最新手机的发布。反之,他们只需付很少的钱,就能让陌生人来完成这些他们

想做的事。

交通业也不例外。在过去的几年,Uber的出现震撼了整个个人运输业,占据了各大报纸头版头条。 即使计程车司机们已在法国、英国和澳洲组织了多次集体罢工,依旧无法阻挡Uber的迅速壮大(即使偶尔违背当地的法规,Uber只需支付一笔很小的罚款就能解决问题)。乘客们都很享受乘坐Uber,因为这让他们的行程更快、更舒适、更省钱。

当然,Uber绝不是唯一一家扰乱交通业的公司, Car Share companies在Uber出现之前就早已盛行多时。(但在澳洲,GoGet仍旧是第一家,也是规模最大的洗车共享公司。)在欧洲,DriveNow公司把这项体验带进了一个新的阶段。DriveNow公司提倡高端汽车共享,租车者可以开着宝马或者Mini 出行和郊游。旅途结束的时候,他们可以把车停在任何地方,继续下一段行程。

一部分人担心他们的行业受到干扰,而另一部分人却觉得这是一个新机会。以奥迪公司来举例,去年圣诞节他们在瑞典的斯德哥尔摩发起了一个活动,让四个家庭成员在两年内共用两台车。这不需要任何肢体接触,而是用奥迪Unite软件控制车辆——这显然和奥迪传统的卖车业务大相径庭。

今天,每当上班族们踏出车门,便进入了一个充满各种声音的居住环境。几年前,一个叫Brickstarter的软件问世,帮我们把城市规划通过外包的形式带给大众。这个软件不仅得到广泛追捧(此概念现已普及到了整个创意业),也同时体现了一个国际趋势——住户们不再总向当地的政府抱怨他们的无作为,而是积极参与到完善城市建设的过程中去。

以一个美国的软件来举例——一个叫做SeeClickFix的软件通过向政府施压的方式,来加快他们修复街灯或清除涂鸦的效率。软件使用者可以在任何地方登录、发照片和提意见,举报周围坏掉的公园长凳,并可以经常登录查看问题是否得到解决。

虽然SeeClickFix软件还未进入澳洲市场,但是我们已经越来越常地参与到社区建设和改造中去。
Australia’s Urban Land Institute曾举办一个比赛,面向大众寻求意见和建议,希望在轻轨建成后,进一步改善悉尼乔治街的面貌。待比赛胜出者的提议落实后,我们就将看到一个不一样的悉尼。

我们注意到,像 eBay, Airbnb 和 Uber这样的公司为人们的生活带来了许多便利。我们也应认识到:几乎所有的新兴产业都已经不再以现金作为主要交易方式。

难道连现金交易都会被干扰而因此消失吗?至少一部分人是这么想的。在科技创造了比特币之前,已经有人不再用现金交易了。很久以前就有很多民众通过诸如community exchange systems 之类的软件(过去称作LETS)进行技术交换,用“信用”与其他服务进行交易(而不是在两个社区成员之间进行直接交易)。这听起来可能很边缘化,但是它的商业版本——Bartercard证明,24000个企业正在使用它。

在丹麦,全国已经开始考虑取消使用货币,政府表示他们正打算公开宣布现金付款已经过时,从而起到省钱的目的。同样的事情也发生在非洲,尽管有着不一样的原因。在线支付十分盛行,对于穷人们来讲,去银行开户或是到特定地点支付款项实属不易。

常常,一个小小的转折点便能终结许多问题。例如,共享经济真的能共享吗?还是仅仅为了更多钱? 顾客们通常在短期内收益颇丰,是否又有人停下来问一句:这些收益到底去了哪里?

订阅我们的电子报

我叫 ,我愿意订阅定期收到电子报。 我的电子邮箱是 我的邮政编码是

Published on October 2, 2015

Technology and trade have been connected – and shaken up – since the days of the Vikings. After all, that group was best known for brute force and ships, but Vikings were also innovators: producing tools like the potter’s wheel at scale.

Fast forward one thousand years or so to twenty years ago, and an admittedly more modern disruptor began influencing trade. In September 1995, a guy called Pierre Omidyar decided to see what would happen if he auctioned off a broken laser pointer on a global marketplace available to all consumers. The result – a sale of about $14 – may not have initially seemed like something that would change the face of retail; but at eBay’s first IPO three years later, Pierre Omidyar became a billionaire.

It turns out that the site which turned much of the world’s excess stuff into a virtual garage sale was just the start of a series of modern disruptors giving the consumer the upper hand in all sorts of industries.

Mostly, these shifts have been technology enabled. And as the tools move from our desktops and tablets to our phones and now watches, it’s a fair bet that no industry will remain unscathed.

Take holiday accommodation: in 2008, we saw the start of Airbnb, which quickly led to millions of consumer shunning hotel rooms for people’s apartments, not to mention rethinking what to do with that spare room. (It’s also meant the company is worth more than the Hilton Hotel chain.)

But disruption isn’t limited to pleasurable pastimes like shopping or holidaying. What about those lists of chores that suck up our spare time, or just never get done? Today, apps like TaskRabbit and Airtasker mean consumers no longer have to weed their own gardens, or wait in queues for the latest iPhone release. Instead, for a small fee, a stranger recruited via the site will wait for us.

There’s also transport. For the last couple of years, Uber has been attracting headlines in its (successful) efforts to shake up the personal transport industry. Strikes by taxi drivers in France, England and Australia certainly haven’t fazed the company (which is known to simply pay any fines faced by drivers coming a cropper with local laws), and passengers appear happy – they say their Uber experience is better, arrives quicker, and of course, is cheaper.

But Uber is not the only company disrupting car travel. Car share companies have been around well before Uber (including in Australia, where Go Get was the first and is still the largest). In Europe, the experience is now taken to a whole new level. DriveNow promotes premium carsharing, so renters wanting a day in the country or a trip around town doing chores can choose from a BMW or a MINI to do it in. When they’re done? They park anywhere they like, and move on with their day.

While some panic when their industry is being disrupted, others use it as a chance to think laterally. Take Audi. Last Christmas it launched a new program in Stockholm, Sweden, allowing four households to ‘share’ the same car for two years. Sure, it’s sharing without the personal touch – access to Audi Unite’s vehicles is controlled through an app – but it’s a shift away from Audi’s traditional business, selling cars.

Once today’s commuters step outside their vehicles, they are increasingly walking into an environment where residents have an ever-increasing voice. A few years ago, a program called Brickstarter proposed we outsource urban design to the crowd. It was much acclaimed, however, it didn’t take (the concept has now been gifted to creative commons). Still, it’s part of the global move for locals to be ever more engaged in urban improvements, rather than just grumble about their local council never doing anything.

Take this working example from the United States: the app SeeClickFix is putting new pressure on councils to respond to issues like broken streetlights or unwanted graffiti. Users walking past say, a damaged park bench, log in and report the issue on the spot, uploading photos, sharing the complaint on social media and checking in to see if it has been solved.

SeeClickFix hasn’t exactly taken Australia by storm – yet. But increasingly, we are being asked to contribute to our public spaces. A public competition by Australia’s Urban Land Institute is calling for ideas on how to improve Sydney’s George Street, once the new light rail system is factored in. Should some of the winner’s suggestions come to fruition, we’ll really know things are changing.

While it’s easy to focus on what many of companies like eBay, Airbnb and Uber do for consumers, it’s also important to realise one key fact: almost all new industries have removed the need for cold hard cash to be exchanged at the point of sale.

So is even cash finally about to be disrupted? Some think so. Long before technology brought about Bitcoin we’ve had people wanting to give cash the flick. Programs like community exchange systems (formerly known as LETS) have long allowed community members to swap skills, with ‘credit’ going into a pool to be used on any other services (rather than a direct swap between two community members). It may sound like fringe stuff, but the business version – Bartercard – says that 24,000 businesses use it.

Over in Demark, the whole country is considering outlawing cash, with it’s government recently announcing it’s thinking of making cash payments obsolete, in an attempt to save money. Over in Africa – the same thing is happening, but for different reasons. Online payments are booming, because it’s hard for the poor to open bank accounts or physically get to places to pay for goods.

It’s just one twist which adds to the many questions widespread disruption starts to bring up. For example, is the share economy really about sharing, or simply making some spare cash? And given that the consumer benefits so much in the short term, where’s the impetus to stop and ask: “Where is this all going?”

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR MAILING LIST

My name is and I'd like to subscribe to the mailing list. My email is and my postcode is .