发表于October 2, 2015

不管是畅销的麦克.葛雷夫的茶壶 (歌唱的鸟儿提醒水巳煮开)、香奈儿的小黑裙 (每个女人的衣柜必备品), 还是经典的塑料潘顿椅(依旧流行着并被无止尽地复制),只要是好的设计,我们都无法拒绝。
但是,像诸如电话和叉子等的常见品究竟要具备什麽条件,才能被称之为完美呢?随着时代变迁,答案也不尽相同。
在不到200年前,工业革命还未开始,工匠们在设计领域占据着主导地位——他们尊崇尚手工打造,慢工出细活。
蒸汽机的发明改变了一切。工厂开始如雨后春笋般大量出现,运河和铁路的建设热潮使得旅游、航运业得以迅速发展。一夜时间,造商们有了大量空余时间去设计和销售。网球装——现代缝纫机轻轻松松就能生产的产品,在当时却是工厂们的生财工具。
并不是所有商品在一开始就能大规模生产,即使当时已经有了批量生产陶碗的技术,但其设计仍需要手绘。 这意味着,在最后的生产线上,比起美感,制造商更加注重产品的功能性。
不过,到了1851年左右,“万国工业国际博览会”在伦敦举办, 一切便开始不一样。展览组织者不仅能陈列世界各地不同的布料,还可以展示各种新发明,比如相机和新橡胶制品。超过600万人到场参观,寻找艺术灵感。
时代从未倒退。如今,小到袜子、墨镜,大到沙发、灯具,处处都体现着设计。 人们已经开始像欣赏时尚走秀一样欣赏具有设计感的建筑。
室内设计师Blainey North多年来专注于高端建筑和时尚潮流,她成功地在建筑和时装间找到了魅力的融合点。
她认为:“当全世界都用一样的思路理解一件事的时候,就会对艺术形式产生影响;同时,建筑和时尚也会随之演变。这就是文化变迁的过程。”
重合点在哪?是时尚影响设计,还是设计影响时尚?答案是:两者之一,或两者都是。
Blainey North认为,对于纺织品来说,家装布艺通常是起点。
“就像普拉达、古奇和路易威登每季都会发布新系列一样,家装布艺供应商也会在每季发布一个新系列。我常常发现室内纺织品的新趋势,会在之后几季出现在时装界”她说。
当然,一些设计导向具有深远的影响力,成为参考对象。拿North目前的一个项目来说:这家餐厅的室内装潢就是受了二十世纪初(1911-1914)的Groupe de Puteau的启发而产生灵感的。
当时有很多画家,诗人和雕塑家通过Groupe de Puteaux运动改变了世界对立体主义的看法。同时,他们也提倡数学比例概念,被称为黄金分割率(艺术家常按照该比例对于一个工艺品进行比例分配)。几百年来,各行业的创造者都对这个设计概念十分着迷。North也并不例外——在该餐厅项目中,她便运用了这个比例概念。
“我们用黄金分割率来设计空间,以及构思设计墙板和房间其他部分的关系”她说。
时装设计师常常会精心构想出一个“概念”,建筑师和室内设计师也是如此。
“这样可使整个作品显得更紧密。当你有一个概念,并能把当中的精髓贯穿在项目的每一个细节上,就能达成一种连贯性。好的设计效果总是能让消费者留意。”
今天,很多创意业的人认为时装和室内设计的交织越来越紧密。社会媒体是其中一个原因:一个纽约人把裤子上的图案发到Instagram上,会即刻启发到地球另一端的室内设计师。
还有Pinterest — 它是一个供用户发表各种视觉创意想法的平台,时装和室内设计的 “pins”在这里占据着重要地位。Pin一个洋装花裙子的图案,很快会被复制到另外一个椅子的pin上。条纹更可以简单地从一个关于坐垫的pin中移动到一个关于小脚裤的,然后再被复制回来。而不管从毛衣到黄麻地毯,都能找到部落图案的pin。
或许是因为当今世界已经被设计主导,媒介相对以前巳没那么重要。毕竟,不管从时装、到叉子、到冰箱 – 每一件物品 ,只要是好的设计都能得到欣赏。创意人士巳不用像以往一样担心他们到底是艺术家、时装设计师或建筑师。他们对同一个问题的不同解决办法,意味着他们正积极地相互合作。
虽然我们无法形容创意是如何演变的,但每当和艺术家和设计师讨论,他们都会很严谨地描述这个过程。” North说。
人们一般需要一个完整的思考过程,才能得出最想要的结果,如果你愿意花一点时间去研究这个思考的过程,定可以从中得到启发。
最近她为了一个项目而不断在思考:
“我最近跟一个时装设计师一起合作设计一个休息室,灵感便是来自于她的时装系列。” North说。“这对我来说十分振奋人心。”

订阅我们的电子报

我叫 ,我愿意订阅定期收到电子报。 我的电子邮箱是 我的邮政编码是

Published on October 2, 2015

Whether it’s the bestselling Michael Graves Tea Kettle (with its singing bird notifying users the water has boiled), Coco Chanel’s Little Black Dress (now a staple in almost every woman’s wardrobe) or the one piece, plastic Panton Chair (still enduringly popular and endlessly copied), when we see good design, it’s hard to accept anything less.

But to understand how we’re at a point where ‘good design’ is expected in objects as ubiquitous as phones and forks, it’s useful to remember that things haven’t always been that way.

It was less than 200 years ago, pre-Industrial Revolution, that craftsmen dominated the design scene: then, everything was done by hand, and slowly.

The invention of the steam engine changed all that. Factories emerged, the boom in construction of canals and railways made travel more accessible, and suddenly, manufacturers had a ‘leisure class’ to design for and sell to: tennis outfits, now easily produced on the era’s new sewing machines, were one such money spinner.

But at first, not everything consumers demanded was able to be produced at scale. Sure, it was possible to churn out thousands of ceramic plates, but the designs still had to be hand painted, meaning that when it came to the bottom line manufacturers cared about, functionality trumped a design aesthetic.

Things changed around 1851, when London held its International Exhibition “Great Exhibition” at Crystal Palace. Now, not only could the organisers showcase fabrics from around the globe in amongst inventions like cameras and newfangled rubber products, but six million people could actually get there to see it all in person, finding inspiration that spread to artistic industries across the globe.

Some say we have never looked back. Today, design is valued in everything from socks and sunglasses to lounges and light fittings. When it comes to capturing the attention of the zeitgeist, we now appreciate a well-designed building in same way we’ve long fawned over the latest catwalk fashions.

Interior architect for both the high profile and the highly fashionable, Blainey North, finds the intersection of architecture and fashion intriguing:

“When the world is thinking in a certain way about something, that starts to influence artistic movement [of the time], and at the same time, architecture and fashion start to move in the same way. It’s really how culture changes,” she says.

But where is the crossover? Does fashion influence design, or is it the other way around? The answer seems to be: either, or both.

When it comes to textiles, North believes that interior fabrics are often the jumping off point:

“In the same way Prada, Gucci or Louis Vuitton bring out new collections every season, our suppliers for interior fabrics bring out new collections each season. I often find trends [show up via] fabrics in interiors, then a few seasons later [the same trend] comes out in fashion,” she says.

Of course, some designs – and design movements – have such staying power that they become reference points in and of themselves. Consider one of North’s current projects, a restaurant design inspired by the Section D’Or collective of the early 1900s (1911-1914).

The painters, poets and sculptors of this movement changed the world’s idea of Cubism. They also promoted a mathematical take on proportions known as the golden ratio (the artists used it to assign proportions within an artwork). The design concept has fascinated creatives across industries for centuries. North is no exception; she’s using it in the abovementioned restaurant design:

“[We are using the golden ratio] in the way we plan out bays, and how the relationship of the wall panelling works in other parts of the room,” she says.

North says fashion designers often like to work on one ‘big idea’, and the same is true for architects and interiors specialists.

“It keeps the whole concept tight. You have one idea that, if you’re able to thread through all the different components of a project provides really good continuity. If you do it well, people notice,” she says.

Today, many in the creative industries believe the intersection of fashion and interiors is becoming increasingly close knit. Social media is one reason: the print on a pair of paints worm by a New Yorker and posted on an Instagram feed about urban street style can easily – and instantly – inspire an interior designer from the other side of the globe.

And then there’s Pinterest – a virtual brainstorming board for almost anything visual, where fashion and interiors ‘pins’ both feature prominently. Here, prints on floral dresses in one pin find themselves replicated on chairs in another; stripes move with ease from pins about cushions to tapered pants and back again; and tribal designs find their way from jumpers to jute rugs.

Perhaps it’s because in today’s design-focussed world, the medium is less important than ever before. After all, with design now appreciated in fashion to forks to fridges, those who are creatively inclined need to worry less than ever before about whether they are an artist, a fashion designer or an architect: today, their different takes on similar problems mean that many are actively collaborating.

“Although the creative leap isn’t something we’ve been able to map, when you talk to artists and designers, the process of getting to the creative leap is quite a rigorous one,” says North.

“Usually, people have been working through a whole series of thought to get to [their end product] – and that’s something you can pick out if you spend time looking and thinking about it,” she says.

It’s something she’s been thinking a lot about with one of her recent projects:

“I’ve just done a collaboration with a fashion designer [and] launched a lounge inspired by her fashion line,” says North.

“For me, that feels very exciting.”

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR MAILING LIST

My name is and I'd like to subscribe to the mailing list. My email is and my postcode is .