发表于March 2, 2016

培养室内植物已成为一种潮流 ——你应该选择哪一种植物,并如何养活它们呢?

植物的益处是大家公认的,很多人不知道连美国国家航天局(NASA)也赞同这种说法。在上世纪80年代,美国国家航天局和美国景观承包商协会组成了一个貌似不可能的联盟,把室内植物作为NASA空气研究的一部分,看看室内植物是否能帮助净化NASA空间站的空气。
调查结果显示,某些植物的确能去除空气中的有毒物质。这不仅对太空人有益,也对地球上的人类有好处。因此,学者们建议每家每户,在家中每9平方米的地方,至少摆放一盆植物。
不过选哪一种植物比较好呢?关注室内设计趋势的人都知道,和植物本身一样,培养室内植物的风潮也时高时低。想想你外婆的后花园,十有八九种满了百子莲。但是今天每当我们看到百子莲,却觉得十分老土。
室内植物十分容易过时。以无花果来举例:据悉尼先驱报报道,无花果既易培养又极具观赏性,但它们已不再是潮流的宠儿。(记者建议养殖鹤望兰。)
那现在流行什么呢?刚获得澳洲园艺业年度最佳青年领导的园艺家——Leon Spratt认为肉质植物正值当红。“它们容易养殖,并有多种颜色选择”他说。
水晶球也很流行。“这些水晶球的设计和大小多样,你可以任意创造出有石头、有苔藓和肉质植物的小花园。”Spratt说。
Spratt还推荐厨房里篮子里的挂珠式植物(Senecio Rowleyana)和金钱树(Zamioculcas Zamiifolia). “它们十分容易养活,适合忙碌的人。”

无与伦比的三种植物

1. 芦荟
芦荟是一种非常具有药用价值的肉质植物,被NASA强烈推荐,可以去除空气中的苯和甲醛。但对养宠物的来说它有一个很大的缺点,那就是芦荟对猫和狗有毒。
2. 黄药
黄药枝繁叶茂,引人注目,只要保证充足的光照,就是绝佳的室内植物。“Xanadu”是一种在澳洲很受欢迎的黄药属植物,许多人根据NASA的建议,挑选某些特定种类的黄药,用于净化空气中的甲醛(千万注意不要让宠物误食)。
3. 蕨类植物
虽然蕨类植物已不再像以前那么受欢迎,但它们依然是绝佳的室内植物。其中波士顿蕨类因为能去除空气中的毒素被NASA列入了空气净化物名单。蕨类植物极易打理。即使你住在澳洲较寒冷的地区,只要保证它们得到足够的光线和水分即可养活它们。

培养室内植物的注意事项

要:记得要浇水!
通常,如果泥土摸起来很干就说明植物需要浇水了,你可以在大部分苗圃买到自动浇水的花盆,它们会储存多余的水分,植物缺水时便可自动吸取。
不要:不要把植物摆放在冷气机前。
它们会很容易干枯。
要:和苗圃确认你的植物需要多少光照。
不是所有的植物都需要光照,实际上,过多的光照有害无益。
要:想想你的地板
如果把植物直接放在地毯或者地板上,会留下水渍,这不仅会减少视觉美感,还需要额外的花费。你可以把盘子放在花盆下,或是把植物放置在高脚架上,确保花盆和地面保持距离。

订阅我们的电子报

我叫 ,我愿意订阅定期收到电子报。 我的电子邮箱是 我的邮政编码是

Published on March 2, 2016

Indoor plants are on trend – but what should you choose and how best to keep them alive?

It’s an almost universally accepted truth that plants are good for us (they are), but what many don’t realise is that even NASA agrees.  Back in the 1980s, an unlikely alliance of NASA and the Associated Landscape Contractors of America studied indoor plants as part of the NASA Clear Air Study, to determine if plants could help purify the air in NASA’s space stations.

The results (laid out in NASA speak here) showed that yes – certain air-filtering plants naturally remove toxic agents. Nice for astronauts, but useful too for those of us back here on earth; in fact, the findings led researchers to suggest home owners add at least one plant per nine square metres of floor space.

But which plant to choose? Those following interiors trends may know that cultivating indoor plants has its own popularity peaks and troughs, and that even the plants themselves go through popularity bursts. Not convinced? Think about your Grandma’s garden: it was probably filled with agapanthus, a plant which screams ‘daggy’ today.

Indoor plants are also susceptible to falling foul of trends. Take figs: according to one Sydney Morning Herald writer, these low-maintenance plants may look beautiful but it’s time for a change (they suggest trying bird of paradise instead).

So what’s in now? According to one keen horticulturist, Leon Spratt, recently voted Young Leader of the Year at the Nursery and Garden Industry Australia awards, succulents are huge. “They’re low maintenance and have a splendid colour range,” he says.

Terrarium containers are also on trend. “They come in many sizes and designs and help to create small themed gardens with rocks, moss and succulents,” says Spratt.

Spratt also recommends the string of pearls plant (Senecio Rowleyana), hanging from a basket in the kitchen, or the ZZ plant (Zamioculcas Zamiifolia). ”It’s an easy care option which suits those with busy lifestyles,” he says.

3 indoor plants that go above and beyond

1. Aloe Vera

This medicinally marvelous succulent made NASA’s list for its ability to remove benzene and formaldehyde, although the downside for pet owners is that Aloe Vera can be toxic for both dogs and cats.

2. Philodendrons

Lush, dramatic looking philodendrons do well as indoor plants, as long as you put them in a brightly lit spot. The “Xanadu” is a hugely popular philodendron variety in Australia, although those following NASA’s advice might want to see if the Seolloum, Elephant ear or Heartleaf varieties are available, as those all remove formaldehyde from the air (again, keep your pets from eating these).

3. Ferns

While not as popular as they once were, ferns make great indoor plants. Boston ferns make NASA’s ‘clear air filter’ list for a couple of chemicals, and overall, ferns don’t need much attention: although if you’re living in a cooler Aussie climate make sure your ferns get lots of filtered light and plenty of water.

Indoor plants DOs & DONT's

DO: Remember to water!

The general rule is “if the soil feels dry to touch, add water”. Self-watering pots (which hoard water for when the plant needs it) are another good way round this; they’re easily purchased at most nurseries.

DON’T: Put plants in front of an air conditioner.

They’ll dry out in a flash.

DO: Check with your nursery how much light they’ll need.

Not all plants need endless sunlight, in fact, too much can sometimes be detrimental.

DO: Think about your floors.

Water stains on carpets or floorboards will take away some of the visual pleasure of a good indoor plant, not to mention, hurt your hip pocket.  Go for a correctly sized saucer underneath pots and use raised feet to keep the whole thing off the floor.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR MAILING LIST

My name is and I'd like to subscribe to the mailing list. My email is and my postcode is .