发表于June 7, 2016

我们的手机已经如此智能化,我们的城市难道不可以吗?我们找出几个我们乐见澳大利亚跟进的都市革新

加拿大的多伦多也许仅是个中等规模的都市,但当地居民都知道多伦多的交通堵塞问题有多令人头痛。然而,若多伦多大学工程系毕业生- Samah El-Tantawy持续努力推动“智能化交通系统”,交通拥塞问题很快便能成为历史。

实际测试到多伦多60个交叉口,Samah的系统成功摆脱了传统集中式网络统一控制灯号的限制。取而代之地,他结合人工智能和博弈论(Game theory),大幅缩减了驾驶等待红灯的时间。就如同球队队员根据其他队员的情况随机应变一样,智能化的交叉口通过和临近路灯“沟通”来调整绿灯亮的时间。结果呢?这项计划成功降低了40%的等待时间。

这项技术被称为“MALRIN”,其目前在全球都市设计师眼中相当火热。透过不断观察交通流量并随之调整灯号时间,这项技术将随时间的推移越来越聪明。

乐于等待的行人

当然,不单单只有车辆厌恶漫长的红灯等待时间,行人更甚。但在葡萄牙的里斯本可就不是这样了。

在里斯本,行人在等待红绿灯时可一点都不无聊呢!红绿灯里的小红人可不只会站在那,还会随兴跳起街舞娱乐行人。更有趣的是,那些舞蹈动作都是真人操控的:在离红绿灯不远处有个动态摄影棚,只要走进去对着镜头跳舞,舞步就能同步显示在红绿灯上。在这项计划实施期间,81%的行人比原来更有耐性等待红灯。若想在澳大利亚实施这有趣的计划,请点此看他们是怎么做到的

 

享用丑陋蔬果

都市中充满着挑剔的购物者。其实这也不是什么大问题,除非你是个想卖掉“歪瓜裂枣”的农夫。目前在澳大利亚,几个非盈利性组织 – Oz Harvest和墨尔本的Foodbank已开始实施厨余回收计划。但在英国,Asda超市(Wal-Mart旗下的子公司)则开始以折扣价贩售丑陋蔬果盒

虽然大多人对于Asda这项计划仍持着半信半疑的态度,它的确让人们意识到超市对于这些蔬果的严格标准。那些可食用的蔬果只要这里缺一角,那里弯一点,马上就从超市的商品沦为注定被丢弃的厨余。

 

智能化水管

世界经济论坛将“Waternet”称为当今城市创新之首。鉴于淡水资源的压力(预计15年以内的需求将超过供应量的40%),拥有管道互联网是绝对必要的。

毕竟,如今的水管已经具备了街道智能:当连接到智能感应器时,它们可以帮助减少水分流失和控制洪水水位。主要厂商是像以色列的TaKaDu这样的新兴企业,他们目前正在使用云端技术将水管连接到互联网。如此一来,供应商可以在发生阻塞等重大损失之前在网络里识别出弱点。

目前,许多澳大利亚的公司已开始发展智能化水管。在昆士兰州,Unitywater透过这项技术在仅仅一年内就省下了十亿升的水。而Yarra Valley Water则透过Takadu的智能软件识别漏水点,进而拯救了几百万人的性命。

展望未来,智能化水管也许能进步到提前检测出传染病的爆发。麻省理工学院的科学家相信,新开发出的污水管道感应器将能分析出细菌和病毒。透过提早发现,我们不止能省下可观的医疗费用,更能拯救生命。

 

环保流动餐车

流动餐车总算来到澳大利亚了(请看餐车在悉尼墨尔本)!也许我们能参考其他海外国家是如何经营他们的餐车,而我们又能如何环保化餐车。

在纽约街头,每天都有五千多辆流动餐车在全市各地为来往的吃货们生产一百二十万份餐食。但这样庞大的生产量是有其代价的:大多数的流动餐车都是靠吵杂的丙烷发电机运行的。

一家名为移动系统 (Move Systems)的公司找到了解决问题的方法。在2015年九月,他们推出了第一辆环保餐车,它是由压缩天然气和太阳能发电运行。2016年底,移动系统(Move Systems) 声称他们将在纽约推行超过500辆全新环保餐车。他们将与市议会合作推行试点计划,并承诺卖家他们将能省下燃料费,并拥有“最先进的餐车,最低廉的前期成本”。

订阅我们的电子报

我叫 ,我愿意订阅定期收到电子报。 我的电子邮箱是 我的邮政编码是

Published on June 7, 2016

Our phones are smart, why not our cities? We dig out some urban innovations that we’d love to see more of in Australia.

Toronto, Canada, may be a medium-sized city in global terms, but as anyone who has lived there knows, it does a mean traffic jam. However, if the work of University of Toronto engineering graduate Samah El-Tantawy continues gaining traction, peak hour congestion may soon be a thing of the past.

The system, tested on 60 intersections in Toronto, ditches the traditional centralised network which controls traffic light timers. Instead, a combination of artificial intelligence and game theory work together to slash the time drivers spend waiting for the red to change.  Just as members of a sports team make decisions based on what’s happening with the rest of the players, the smart intersections ‘talk’ to nearby lights to decide whether to let the green run a little longer. The result? Intersections in the project reduced vehicles’ waiting time by 40 percent.

That’s not the only reason that the technology, called MALRIN, is currently being eyed off by urban planners across the globe: by continually adjusting its timing mechanisms and observing the impact on traffic, it gets even savvier over time.

Pedestrians who welcome the wait

Of course, not all those frustrated by red lights are in vehicles. Impatient pedestrians are unlikely to wait for the green to cross, although perhaps not in Lisbon, Portugal, where the makers of Smart cars have experimented with a dancing traffic light.

Fabulously, instead of the infamous ‘red man’ sitting static as pedestrians twiddle their thumbs, he busts out some dance moves to keep everyone captivated on the sidewalk. Even better? Those dance moves are real: the footwork of other passersby who’ve ducked into a nearby booth to entertain the crowds in real time. Lighthearted it may be, but the safety impact is real. During the project’s lifespan, 81 per cent more pedestrians waited for the light to turn green before crossing. For anyone keen to replicate this slice of toe-tapping street safety here in Australia, here’s how they did it.

Welcoming wonky veg

Cities are famously filled with discerning shoppers. No problem: unless, of course, you’re a farmer trying to sell a wobbly carrot or a less than perfectly-round tomato. In Australia, food waste is already being combated to some degree by not-for-profits like Oz Harvest and Melbourne’s Foodbank, but in the UK, supermarket Asda (owned by Wal-Mart) has started tackling the problem on its shelves, by selling “Wonky Veg” boxes at a discount.

While some wonder if the company’s war on waste is real, it does seem to be doing one thing: highlighting famously strict standards on what is deemed sellable in supermarkets – one blemish or a bend in the wrong place and perfectly edible food is destined for the bin even before it gets to consumers.

Smart pipes

The World Economic Forum calls “Waternet” one of today’s top urban innovations. Given the pressures on freshwater resources (demand is predicted to outpace supply by 40 per cent in less than 15 years), having an internet of pipes makes perfect sense.

After all, today’s water pipes already have the capacity for street smarts: when hooked up to smart sensors they can assist in reducing water loss and managing floodwater levels. The main players are start ups like Israel-based TaKaDu, which is using cloud-based technologies to connect water pipes to the Internet of Things so suppliers can identify weak points in their networks before major damage like blockages occurs.

In water-thirsty Australia, local companies are already cottoning on to this one. In Queensland Unitywater saved over one billion litres of water in just one year using the technique, while Yarra Valley Water has also saved millions by identifying and tracking leaks through TaKaDu’s smart software.

Looking to the future our pipes may up the ante even further by becoming savvy enough to detect outbreaks of infectious disease. MIT scientists believe that newly developed sensors in sewage pipes have potential to analyse bacteria and viruses which, when caught early, will save both lives and significant medical costs.

Green food trucks

The food truck movement took a while to reach Australia, but now that it’s here to stay (check them out in Sydney and Melbourne) perhaps the time has come to look back overseas and see how to make our street eats greener?

In New York over 5000 food carts operate across the city each day. But producing 1.2 million daily meals has an environmental price tag: most run on noisy propane generators.

One start up, Move Systems, reckons it has the answer. Its first eco-friendly food carts, running on compressed natural gas and solar, were rolled out in September 2015.  By the end of 2016, Move says there’ll be more than 500 carts on New York’s pavements. The pilot program, running in collaboration with the city’s council, promises vendors they’ll save on fuel by having “the most advanced cart on the street, at no upfront cost”.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR MAILING LIST

My name is and I'd like to subscribe to the mailing list. My email is and my postcode is .