发表于October 2, 2015

2009年初,手提包品牌巨头——路易威登发起了一场活动,用数码的形式集合世界各地的客户,在手机应用程式上比赛,分享他们的旅行故事,并藉此展示他们的行李箱——比赛还请到著名导演王家卫做评审。
时代变迁,这个历史悠久的传统品牌已经开始意识到,曾经以稀为贵的奢华已经可以在每个智能手机中找到。路易威登此举也引发了众多知名国际品牌对于“奢华”在个人层面上和数码普及方面的大规模的反思。在当今社会,奢华到底是什么?在不同的国际市场有何不同的定义?当我们正进一步迈入数码时代,“奢华”又将演变成什么?
从爱马仕围巾到Jimmy Choo的鞋,许多奢侈品市场中的顶尖品牌都在研究如何把产品定位成奢侈品。事实上,“奢华”一词,经过多年的滥用,它的庄严气派已随着品牌的陈词滥调(那些惊艳、豪华和无与伦比的词汇)一起退却了。社交媒体的普及改变了奢侈品牌吸引顾客的方式,顾客可从中接触到中、高档品牌。值得注意的是,“买得起”的奢侈品和纺织品已经接近市场饱和,使得这一名词不再显得那么珍贵和特别。
尽管多数高档品牌的营销宣传一贯比较少,新的通讯平台却能在新兴市场上为这些奢侈品开辟新的机会,用新的方式去接触新顾客,顾客们也越来越渴求能在这些平台上找到与他们生活方式相融合的品牌。传统品牌和“永恒”有了全新的定义,它们代表着个人化的订制服务。最值得注意的是,高端品牌越来越强调客户体验,而非仅仅是产品本身,这也随之掀起了路易威登的世界旅行者热潮和爱马仕的retweet-ready视频系列。高端品牌的产品模拟网站极大地满足了顾客的购物欲,比如Yachtbox智能手机和里斯卡顿的虚拟接待服务,得以迎合顾客的各种需求。所有这些品牌都只有一个目的,那就是尽可能地捕捉顾客的想象力和欲望,并反映出“品质”在个人层面上的不同需求。
这些全新的尝试,在国际上引起了不同程度的广泛影响。BRASH仔细地研究了高端品牌的地域性,特别是在像阿拉伯联合酋长国、印度、中国和英国这些他们熟悉的地区。阿拉伯联合酋长国是全球第十大奢侈品市场,不管是本地人还是外地人都十分热衷于在社交平台上炫耀他们的奢华体验。在印度,消费者始终一如既往地追捧者传统奢侈品牌。随着国家基础建设的发展,他们对国际潮流的趋势和品位的认知也与日俱增。中国市场正处于一个重要的蜕变阶段,政府对消费市场的干预较少,各品牌都想在中国开辟市场占有率,取得形象意识较强的顾客群体的关注。而在英国,“传统”和“永恒”始终经久不衰,英国人认为工艺是奢侈的精髓,陶醉地痴迷于一针一线背后的故事。
BARSH在迪拜、阿布扎比、孟买、香港和伦敦都设有办事处,致力在不同市场中传达“奢华”的讯息。一个高端品牌在未来的成功关键,取决于它是否能够紧密跟随见多识广的顾客们的要求,使用多元化的销售渠道。要取得成功,便需要有创新和原创精神。虽是一个大挑战,却也能收获最大的收获。

该文章最初由Brash Brands发布于Insight。

订阅我们的电子报

我叫 ,我愿意订阅定期收到电子报。 我的电子邮箱是 我的邮政编码是

Published on October 2, 2015

Beginning in 2009, handbag icon Louis Vuitton launched a campaign to connect digitally with customers around the globe, complete with a mobile app to share travel stories—and show off luggage—and a filmmaking competition judged by Wong Kar-wai.

Times had changed, the heritage brand realized: what was once called luxury could now be found in the hands of anyone with a smartphone. Louis Vuitton’s shakeup is one in a wave of international brands rethinking ‘luxury’ in a large-scale, highly personal and increasingly digital way. What does luxury mean today? How does that definition vary across global markets? And how will it evolve as we venture further into the digital age?

From the Hermès scarf to the Jimmy Choo shoe, the biggest names in the high-end market are redefining what it means to brand a ‘luxury’ product. The word luxury itself has lost its gravitas after years of overuse, along with an entire lexicon of branding clichés (think stunning, luxe, and unparalleled). Social media has radically altered the way these upscale brands reach their customers, who now encounter both luxury and mid-tier brands via the same channels. What’s more, ‘affordable’ luxury items and knock-offs have saturated the market, making it harder to appeal to customers on the grounds of exclusivity alone.

Whilst many upscale brands have a history of low promotional activity, new communication platforms present the opportunity for luxury stalwarts to reach customers in emerging markets and in innovative ways. New media channels also present greater opportunities for brands to foster emotional connections with customers, who increasingly hunger for brands that feel authentic to their lifestyles. Brand heritage and the sense of ‘timelessness’ carry new cachet, as do personalization and bespoke services. Perhaps most notably, however, premium brands increasingly promise experiences rather than products—hence Louis Vuitton’s appeal to the wanderlust of world travellers and Hermès’s cheeky, retweet-ready video series. The immersive websites of upscale brands speak to the desire of customers to be transported; smartphone apps such as Yachtbox or Ritz Carlton’s virtual concierge service cater to their individual wants. Across all of these brands, the goal is the same: to capture the imagination and aspirations of the customer, and to reflect the qualities customers value in themselves as individuals.

These new approaches have been proven to work globally, if to varying degrees and at different speeds. Brash prides itself on maintaining a careful understanding of regional climates for premium branding, particularly in our areas of expertise: the United Arab Emirates, India, China and the United Kingdom. In the UAE—now the 10th-largest luxury market in the world—Emiratis and expats crave exclusive, authentic experiences that they can still show off via social media. Indian consumers seek out international brands that appeal to traditional sensibilities; and, as the nation’s infrastructure develops, customers are increasingly connected and aware of global trends and tastes. The Chinese market is in the midst of a fundamental shift, with fewer government stimuli to drive consumption. Brands seeking to extend their reach in this market must appeal both to image-conscious consumers and to an increasingly well-informed customer base seeking nuanced, experience-based brands. And in the UK, traditionalism and timelessness still reign: Brits believe craft to be the essence of luxury, savouring the story behind every stitch.

With offices now in Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Mumbai, Hong Kong and London, it’s our job at Brash to determine how best to communicate ‘luxury’ in every market. The future of a high-end brand hinges on its willingness to revamp concepts to serve the needs of increasingly sophisticated, well-informed customers around the globe and to manage the growing diversity of sales channels. To do so with a spirit of innovation and authenticity, however, poses the greatest challenge—and reaps the greatest rewards.

This post first appeared on Insight by Brash Brands.

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR MAILING LIST

My name is and I'd like to subscribe to the mailing list. My email is and my postcode is .